I Love you….Because you’re Pretty (an edited version of Love At First Sight)

Does love at first sight mean true love or just temporary love? Well, who knows?

According to a website I was reading, love at first sight is an emotional condition whereby a person feels romantic attraction for a stranger in the first encounter.

Since childhood up to my adolescent stage, I still hear the phrase “love at first sight” connected to sentences about this stranger they saw while they wandered around the streets. They usually said praises pertaining to the other’s physical traits. That’s why, as a kid, I always thought that beautification of the outside appearance is key to having a long lasting relationship.

I had also heard a real love story that started with just a simple look then they clicked to each other and, amazingly, they did get their happily ever after.

But growing up in a society like mine, I have learned to grow. To grow in mind and to live not according to what people tell me. And that’s when I realized that love is not measured on the attractiveness of the outside but the wonderful human inside.

I’ve watched movies that had let me see how a person can fall in love with another just by a glimpse. That’s a literal definition of love at first sight to me. I don’t remember the titles of those movies but I still remember those moments. And like any other fictional love stories, the person who fell at first sight lived happily ever after with his love.

But when I see those moments on television, I still have this question in mind: How do they know if it’s love?

How can they determine that that person will be the love of their life? How can they be so sure of such feeling? And can it be that it’s only because of their hormones? Yes, all these questions pop into my mind when talking about love at first sight.

As to how I see it, love at first sight is possible but it’s always a good idea to take a second look because I know for sure that it is not love yet but just an attraction or rather, a crush. I think no one will question me about that for everyone is at fault. Of course, there those who really look at someone’s attitude and character but we cannot deny the fact that most people judge by how we look physically. That’s something I’m certain because I’m also human and I have done it too.

Boys rate girls and girls rate boys. Others say it’s normal and others say it’s rude. For a lot of people, height, weight, color, race and social status matter. And within different cultures, there are different standards. Yes, culture is a big consideration when it comes to love.

In movies, love at first sight ends in happy endings but in reality, not so much. It isn’t safe to say that you can beat all the odds with just one glance because maybe, you don’t know, you’re the only one fighting. 

It is fine to have a ‘type’, it is fine if your standards are mostly based on the outward appearance because no one must dictate you on whom you should like. But make sure that that someone is willing to build a team with you in your relationship. 

Love at first sight is a mere attraction of the physical but if built with a foundation of strong emotional connection, two people might experience true love. 

What Do You Think?

